Skip to content


Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award

The Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award celebrates a Riverview resident, group, organization or business owner for their valued contributions to creating and strengthening our vibrant community.

The Community Spirit Award was created in 2013 as part of the Town of Riverview's 40th anniversary and is intended to increase civic pride, engagement and action while celebrating those who make Riverview a great place to grow. The inagaural award was presented to and named for long-time resident and community leader Jim DeWolfe, who continues to demonstrate an outstanding personal commitment to improving the lives of others in Riverview.

The Town of Riverview manages the award program that honours one recipient each year. A selection committee reviews and selects the recipient that best fits the award's criteria.

Submit an online nomination for the Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award.

Or print the application and drop it off with the nomination package at Riverview Town Hall.

The deadline to submit an application either online or in person at Town Hall is 4:30 p.m. on Friday, March 10, 2017.


Who is eligible for the award?

Any current or former long-term resident of Riverview is eligible for nomination. Riverview business owners who have made valuable contributions to the community are also eligible for the award regardless of the business owner's place of residence. Elected representatives are not eligible for nominations while they hold office.  

What should my nomination package include?

You will be asked to complete the nomination form and submit a detailed letter of support for their nominee. Information should include a comprehensive overview of the nominee's volunteer work or community service to the town of Riverview. Members of the selection committee who will judge the nominations require as much knowledge as possible in order to choose the most deserving recipient. The following criteria will guide the selection committee's decision.

  • Nature of nominee's voluntary contributions and community service to the town of Riverview
  • Enhancement of and impact upon the community
  • Ongoing leadership and dedication
  • Include specific projects or committees on which the volunteer was involved, such as an advisory board, recreation project, or event planning activities, etc. 

Additional materials such as publications, photographs, media stories, testimonials, etc. to support your nomination are welcome but not required. Documents will not be returned so please ensure you retain original copies.   

Where do I send my nomination package?

All materials can be accepted via the online nomination form or at Riverview Town Hall:

Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Awards
c/o Town of Riverview
30 Honour House Court
Riverview, NB E1B 3Y9