Skip to main content

Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award

Nominations for the 2024 Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award will be accepted starting on Monday, January 29 until 4:30 p.m. on Monday, March 18.

Do you know someone who makes a big impact in our community? Nominate them to be recognized!

The Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award celebrates a Riverview resident, group, organization or business for their valued contributions to creating and strengthening our vibrant community. Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award winners go above and beyond in devoting their time, energy and care to making Riverview an exceptional community.

The award was created in 2013 and named for Jim DeWolfe, an incredible community leader whose contributions and volunteer efforts stretched across many decades. Jim devoted over 60 years to volunteerism, leadership and community growth in countless ways. He offered his time and energy to numerous volunteer organizations including the Canadian Cancer Society, Health Canada, Scouts Canada, Telephone Pioneers of America, the Masonic Order, the Albert County Historical Society, and many other. Jim was also a great lover of the Dobson Trail and spent many years working on making it a source of pride for Riverview. Jim DeWolfe passed away in 2021, at the age of 93 and continues to be remembered and honoured in our community as an inspiring example of how a single person can impact an entire community.

Once per year a special selection committee of Riverview residents, reviews and selects the recipient that best fits the award's criteria.


Who is eligible for the award?

Any current or former long-term resident of Riverview is eligible for nomination. Riverview business owners are also eligible for the award regardless of the business owner's place of residence. Elected representatives are not eligible for nominations while they hold office. Past recipients of the Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award are not eligible to receive this award again. 


How do I nominate someone?

To submit a nomination, please answer all questions included in the nomination form. Both written and video nominations will be accepted. You may submit your nomination in any of the following ways:

  • Complete all fields of the online form. (click "DONE" when you are ready to submit your nomination)
  • Download the PDF nomination form and submit the completed form to:

Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Awards
c/o Town of Riverview
30 Honour House Court
Riverview, NB E1B 3Y9

Tips for nominators

Please provide as much information as possible on why you think your nominee deserves to be recognized. Detailed responses will help our committee make the best possible choice.

Additional support materials are welcome, but not required. If you choose to include extra materials, please retain your original copies. Documents will not be returned. Support materials could include:

  • Photos
  • Media stories
  • Testimonials/additional letters of support

Any submitted materials may be shared through the Town's social media accounts and/or other communication channels.


2024 Recipient - Rob Taylor

Robert created "The Friends of The Royals" program which has raised over $200,000 since its inception. The money raised has fed thousands of students, built computer labs, helped reconstruct the new gym at Riverview High, purchased new team jerseys, helped support proms, contributed to new equipment, funded drama and student government programs and the list goes on! He's a yearly major sponsor of Riverview Tennis Club, Golf Course, Riverview Minor Hockey, Riverview Minor Basketball, The Rebecca Schofield Playpark, most Riverview primary schools, The Moncton Hospital, Atlantic Wellness and partnering on Town events makes his impact far-reaching throughout the community. During the pandemic, he was a community leader not only in the food and beverage industry, but for many small businesses and individuals who were looking for advice and information throughout changing regulations and stressful entrepreneurial decisions. He prides himself on creating a safe and welcoming environment for customers and staff. He has team members from all walks of life, including international workers that are getting set up for success here in Riverview. His commitment to creating a fair and positive work environment is apparent in retaining staff and ensuring great service for patrons. Described as someone who would do anything for Riverview, Rob embodies the community values that the town holds dear. It is for these reasons that we are proud to present Robert Taylor with the 2024 Jim DeWolfe Community Spirit Award. 

committee chair, Melannie Eldridge stands beside 2024 recipient, Robert Taylor and Mayor Andrew J. LeBlanc

From left to right: committee chair, Melannie Eldridge stands beside 2024 receipient, Rob Taylor and Mayor Andrew J. LeBlanc.

Past Recipients

  • Robert Betts
  • Linda Grimm
  • David Owen
  • Ken Arsenault
  • Margaret Boushel
  • Peter Brzezicki
  • Ann Connolly
  • Alison Davidson
  • Jim DeWolfe
  • David Ford
  • Ivan and Vivian Hicks
  • Al Kavanaugh
  • Brad Lane
  • Janet Longaphie
  • Albert McEachern
  • Kelly MacKinnon
  • Melody Munro
  • Tammy Rampersaud
  • Riverview Lions Club
  • Edithann Smith
  • Mike Stone
  • Jason Surette
  • Paul Toner
  • Bernie Touesnard
  • Charles Webber
  • William A. West